Why living by the saying, “If you love what you do you’ll never work a day in your life,” is ruining your career

Morgan Danielle
4 min readJun 11, 2018

As Britany would say, “You better work, bitch.”

I’m not saying don’t do what you love. I’m saying put in the damn effort, folks!

“A bright blue neon on a wall reads “Work harder”” by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

Now let me begin by saying that as I write this piece I am speaking as much to myself as I am to you. We all have that one thing that we love, be it writing, painting or crafting homemade goods. There are an unlimited number of passions to dedicate our lives to “grinding” and “hustling” for in search of success.

In recent times there seems to be an even greater surge of the workforce turning to pursue passion projects in the hopes of finding financial freedom within it. I’m not shaming a passion project or a dream, in fact I encourage it, but this all goes back to the saying that we have all heard an obnoxious number of times, “If you love what you do you’ll never work a day in your life.” This is a quote from singer and producer, Marc Anthony, and it is blatantly false.

While the meaning Anthony is trying to get across is no doubt seemingly obvious, I think that some of us tend to take it a bit too intentionally.

Do what you love and it will never feel like you are working. Right? That’s the dream isn’t it?

--

--

Morgan Danielle

Orlando-Based Editor & Writer | Here to talk writing, creative living, travel, publishing, and small business ownership.